Boulder Dam (Hoover Dam) was dedicated on September 30, 1935 by President Roosevelt

Boulder Dam, (now called Hoover Dam) is located in the Black Canyon of the Colorado River, on the border between the U.S. states of Nevada and Arizona.

Dedicated September 30, 1935

It was constructed between 1931 and 1936 during the Great Depression and was dedicated on September 30, 1935, by President Franklin D. Roosevelt. Its construction was the result of a massive effort involving thousands of workers, and cost over one hundred lives. The dam was controversially named after President Herbert Hoover.

As the United States developed the Southwest, the Colorado River was seen as a potential source of irrigation water. On December 21, 1928 President Coolidge signed the bill authorizing the dam. The largest dam in the world at the time of its completion in 1935, Hoover Dam is a National Historic Landmark.  It stores enough water in Lake Mead to irrigate 2 million acres and serves as a popular tourist destination.

hoover-damAerial view of Hoover Dam, Nevada 2010 (Carol Highsmith, Library of  Congress)

“Built during the Depression; thousands of men and their families came to Black Canyon to tame the Colorado River. It took less than five years, in a harsh and barren land, to build the largest dam of its time. Now, years later, Hoover Dam still stands as a world-renowned structure. The Dam is a National Historic Landmark and has been rated by the American Society of Civil Engineers as one of America’s Seven Modern Civil Engineering Wonders.” Click for more information on Hoover Dam

The Hoover Dam: The Story of Hard Times, Tough People and The Taming of a Wild River

About Donna R Causey

Donna R. Causey, resident of Alabama, was a teacher in the public school system for twenty years. When she retired, Donna found time to focus on her lifetime passion for historical writing. She cohost the Podcast: Alabama Grist Mill and developed the websites www.alabamapioneers and

All her books can be purchased at and Barnes & Noble.

She has authored numerous genealogy books.
RIBBON OF LOVE: A Novel Of Colonial America (TAPESTRY OF LOVE)
is her first novel in the Tapestry of Love about her family where she uses actual characters, facts, dates and places to create a story about life as it might have happened in colonial Virginia. Faith and Courage: Tapestry of Love (Volume 2)
is the second book and the third FreeHearts: A Novel of Colonial America (Book 3 in the Tapestry of Love Series)
Discordance: The Cottinghams (Volume 1)
is the continuation of the story. .

For a complete list of books, visit Donna R Causey

Leave a Reply

Please use your real name instead of you company name or keyword spam.