Gaysville is a village in the town of Stockbridge in Windsor County, of the “Eastern Vermont Gateway” region. The came name from the families of Daniel and Jeremiah Gay, who settled in Stockbridge quite early.
“In 1786, Elais Keyes established a grist mill and later a saw mill at “The Narrows”, later known as Gaysville, so named for its founders Daniel and Jeremiah Gay. Gaysville flourished as a manufacturing center, powered by the waters of the White River.
A button shop, sawmills, grist mills, schools, churches, several general stores, a woolen mill, snowshoe shop, and many homes were at one time located at Gaysville. Stockbridge Village was also a major area manufacturing center boasting two stores, a school, a sawmill, a church, and a tannery. The maximum population of Stockbridge of 1,327 was reached in 1850.”
Gaysville, Vermont, June 1943, by photographer John Collier
Though a portion of Gaysville was destroyed during the flood of 1927, it remains a vibrant village. The book Floodtide of 1927 reports some thirty buildings gone, with many more rendered useless in Gaysville alone.
Today, Gaysville, Vermont includes the Cobble House Inn Bed and Breakfast.
- Stockbridge, Vermont town history